What is a session?


What is a session?


The academic year is divided up into two main sessions, as well as a winter vacation session and a summer session.


  • Session 1 is the first half of the year.
  • Winter vacation units are held in the break between Session 1 and Session 2
  • Session 2 is the second half of the year.
  • Session 3 (summer session) is an optional session that runs over the summer break for students who may be behind or wish to fast track their degree.


Some units may be offered in both Session 1 and Session 2, whilst others only in one session. A limited amount of units are offered in Session 3.To view a list of all units and when they are offered, please visit the University Handbook and select the relevant unit.


Please click here to find the important academic dates for each session.